French version

October 2019

Over the next 20 years, Quebec's major urban centres will share most of the population growth, according to the ISQ

On October 17, the Institut de la Statistique du Québec (ISQ) published the Données sociodémographiques en bref bulletin, which presents the 2016-2041 population projections for the province's regional county municipalities (RCMs). This publication follows up on the 2016-2066 demographic outlook for Quebec and its regions, which was published by the Institut last July.

According to the latest bulletin, if recent demographic trends continue, 64 of Quebec's 104 RCMs will have more inhabitants in 2041 than in 2016. In the other 40 RCMs, which are generally less populous, a demographic decline is projected.

Overall, Quebec's population is expected to grow by 14 per cent between 2016 and 2041.

Here is a summary of the detailed results taken from the ISQ's press release.

A growing population in the RCMs of Montreal and adjacent regions

All of the RCMs in the Laurentides, Lanaudière and Montérégie administrative regions, as well as Montreal and Laval, are expected to have more inhabitants in 2041 than in 2016.

  • Mirabel, in the Laurentides, tops the list with a projected population growth of 45 per cent in 25 years.
  • The RCM of La Rivière-du-Nord is expected to post a 34 per cent increase.
Seven RCMs in Quebec could see their population drop by more than 15 per cent

Quebec's other RCMs will experience a combination of growing and shrinking populations, except in Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine and Côte-Nord, where all RCMs are expected to register a decrease in population. Seven RCMs could lose more than 15 per cent of their population, including two in the Côte-Nord region that could register the largest population decreases between 2016 and 2041: Le Golfe-du-Saint-Laurent (-24 per cent) and La Haute-Côte-Nord (-21 per cent).

Aging populations will impact all RCMs, but at different rates

Whether their population is growing or shrinking, all RCMs will experience an aging of their population. In 2016, the share of people aged 65 and older was more than 25 per cent in 16 of the province's 104 RCMs, and no fewer than 90 RCMs will have crossed this threshold by 2041.

However, population aging will be experienced at different rates in the 104 RCMs. While the share of the population aged 65 and over in Quebec should increase from 19 per cent in 2019 to 26 per cent in 2041, seven RCMs could have a share of seniors equal to or greater than 40 per cent in 2041. They are:

  • Communauté maritime des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Le Rocher-Percé and La Haute-Gaspésie (Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine);
  • Témiscouata (Bas-Saint-Laurent);
  • Mékinac (Mauricie);
  • La Haute-Côte-Nord (Côte-Nord);
  • L’Islet (Chaudière-Appalaches).
At the other end of the spectrum, Caniapiscau (Côte-Nord) as well as Administration régionale Kativik and Eeyou Istchee (Nord-du-Québec) are the three RCMs with the lowest share of seniors. However, this share is expected to more or less double, reaching between 6 and 13 per cent in 2041.

The share of people aged 20 to 64 is decreasing in almost all RCMs – another facet of the aging population

This age group, which is associated with the potential labour pool, should see its share decrease in virtually all RCMs in Quebec by 2041, reaching less than 45 per cent of the population in the following RCMs:

  • Communauté maritime des Îles-de-la-Madeleine (Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine);
  • Les Basques and Témiscouata (Bas-Saint-Laurent);
  • L’Islet (Chaudière-Appalaches);
  • Mékinac (Mauricie).

Interestingly, only 10 RCMs are expected to have a share of people aged 20 to 64 years that exceeds 55 per cent in 2041. The highest shares are expected to be in the RCMs of Caniapiscau (Côte-Nord), Montreal, La Jacques-Cartier (Capitale-Nationale) and Mirabel (Laurentides).

Version anglaise

Octobre 2019

Au cours des 20 prochaines années, les grandes zones urbaines du Québec se partageront l’essentiel de la croissance démographique selon l’ISQ.

L’Institut de la Statistique du Québec (ISQ) a publié le 17 octobre dernier un bulletin Données sociodémographiques en bref, qui présente les projections démographiques 2016-2041 à l’échelle des municipalités régionales de comté (MRC). Cette publication fait suite aux perspectives démographiques du Québec et des régions, 2016-2066, diffusées par l’Institut en juillet dernier.

Selon ce bulletin, si les tendances démographiques récentes se maintiennent, 64 des 104 MRC du Québec compteront plus d’habitants en 2041 qu’en 2016. Dans les 40 autres MRC, généralement moins populeuses, c’est plutôt un déclin démographique qui est projeté.

Dans son ensemble, la population du Québec devrait croître de 14 % entre 2016 et 2041.

Voici le résumé des résultats détaillés tirés du communiqué de presse de l’ISQ.

Une population en croissance dans les MRC de Montréal et des régions adjacentes

Toutes les MRC des régions administratives des Laurentides, de Lanaudière et de la Montérégie, ainsi que Montréal et Laval, devraient compter plus d’habitants en 2041 qu’en 2016.

  • Mirabel, dans les Laurentides, arrive en tête de liste avec une croissance projetée de 45 % en 25 ans,
  • la MRC de La Rivière-du-Nord devrait afficher une hausse de 34 %.
Sept MRC du Québec susceptibles de voir leur population baisser de plus de 15 %

Dans les autres régions du Québec, MRC en croissance et MRC en déclin se côtoieront, sauf en Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine et sur la Côte-Nord, où toutes les MRC pourraient connaître une décroissance. Sept MRC pourraient perdre plus de 15 % de leur population, dont deux MRC de la Côte-Nord, qui enregistreraient les plus fortes baisses entre 2016 et 2041 : Le Golfe-du-Saint-Laurent (-24 %) et La Haute-Côte-Nord (-21 %).

Le vieillissement perceptible dans toutes les MRC, mais à des rythmes différents

Que leur population soit en croissance ou en décroissance, toutes les MRC connaîtront un vieillissement de leur population. Alors qu’en 2016 la part des personnes de 65 ans et plus était supérieure à 25 % dans 16 des 104 MRC, pas moins de 90 d’entre elles auront franchi ce seuil en 2041.

Le vieillissement démographique se reflétera cependant à des rythmes différents dans les 104 MRC. Si dans l’ensemble de la population québécoise la part des 65 ans et plus devrait passer de 19 % en 2019 à 26 % en 2041, sept MRC pourraient afficher en 2041 une part d’aînés égale ou supérieure à 40 %. Il s’agit de :

  • la Communauté maritime des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, du Rocher-Percé et de La Haute-Gaspésie (Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine);
  • Témiscouata (Bas-Saint-Laurent);
  • Mékinac (Mauricie);
  • La Haute-Côte-Nord (Côte-Nord);
  • L’Islet (Chaudière-Appalaches).
À l’autre extrémité, Caniapiscau (Côte-Nord) de même que l’Administration régionale Kativik et Eeyou Istchee (Nord-du-Québec) demeurent les trois MRC où la part des aînés sera la moins élevée. Cette part est néanmoins appelée à plus ou moins doubler, pour atteindre entre 6 % et 13 % en 2041.

La part des personnes de 20 à 64 ans en diminution dans presque toutes les MRC – une autre facette du vieillissement de la population

Ce groupe d’âge, qu’on associe au bassin de main-d’œuvre potentielle, devrait voir son poids diminuer dans quasiment toutes les MRC du Québec d’ici 2041, allant jusqu’à représenter moins de 45 % de la population dans les MRC suivantes :

  • Communauté maritime des Îles-de-la-Madeleine (Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine);
  • Les Basques et Témiscouata (Bas-Saint-Laurent);
  • L’Islet (Chaudière-Appalaches);
  • Mékinac (Mauricie).

Fait intéressant, seules 10 MRC compteraient une part de personnes de 20 à 64 ans supérieure à 55 % en 2041. Les parts les plus élevées devraient s’observer dans les MRC de Caniapiscau (Côte-Nord), de Montréal, de La Jacques-Cartier (Capitale-Nationale) et de Mirabel (Laurentides).